Bully (Falling Away series bk 1) by Penelope Douglas

Penelope Douglas
Series: Fall Away #1

New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Penelope Douglas delivers an unforgettable New Adult romance that toes the fine line between love and hate…

My name is Tate. He doesn’t call me that, though. He would never refer to me by a friendly nickname. No, he’ll barely even speak to me. But he still won’t leave me alone.

We were best friends once. Then he turned on me and made it his mission to ruin my life. I was humiliated, shut out, and gossiped about all through high school. His pranks and rumors got worse as time wore on, and I made myself sick trying to stay out of his way. I even went away for a year just to avoid him.

But I’m done hiding from him now, and there’s no way I’ll allow him to ruin another year. He might not have changed, but I have. It’s time to fight back.


5 stars This is my second book by Penelope Douglas and I wasn't sure any of her other books would be able to compete with Punk 57. [Review here]  Bully was just as good and I could not put it down!  Jared and Tate [Tatum] used to be best friends as kids.  Then one summer, Jared comes back from visiting his absent father different.  It is his mission to torment Tate.  He becomes her bully.  What happened that summer?  Why does he hate her so much?

The beginning of the book is difficult to read in that the stunts Jared pulls on Tate are horrendous.  It is really interesting to see how their relationship begins to change between them. Will they ever get their friendship back?  Will Tate learn to trust Jared again?  This book moves at a good pace and the characters are well developed.  Even though Jared is an arrogant jerk, I actually really liked him and my heart breaks for him when I learned what all he went through.  I found Tate to be a strong, engaging heroine.  I enjoyed the minor characters in Bully and I look forward to reading their own stories in future books in this series.

Purchase This Book:

For other Books by Penelope Douglas:

About Penelope Douglas:

Penelope Douglas is a New York Times, USA Today, and Wall Street Journal bestselling author. Her books have been translated into fourteen languages and include The Fall Away Series, The Devil’s Night Series, and the stand-alones, Misconduct, Punk 57, and Birthday Girl. Please look for Kill Switch (Devil’s Night #3), coming in early 2019. 

She lives in Las Vegas with her husband and their daughter. 

Stay Connected: